How do I wipe my Mac hard drive without erasing operating system?

Go to the Utilities window and choose Disk Utility. Choose the startup disk. Click Erase. Of the options given, choose Mac OS Extended and then click Erase.

How do I wipe my Mac but keep OS?

Mac

  1. Click the Apple menu and select “Restart.” Hold down “Command-R” while your Mac restarts.
  2. Choose a network from the “Wi-Fi” menu to connect to the Internet when the Recovery Console launches.
  3. Select the “Disk Utility” option and click “Continue.”
  4. Click on your hard drive and select the “Erase” tab.

How do I delete everything off my hard drive except OS?

How Can I Securely Delete Everything Except the Operating System? Five Steps to Get as Close as You Can

  1. Delete and uninstall data and programs.
  2. Remove users.
  3. Run a disk cleaning utility.
  4. Delete some system files.
  5. Wipe free space.

How do I wipe my Mac without losing programs?

Step 1: Hold the Command + R keys until the MacBook’s utility window hasn’t opened. Step 2: Select Disk Utility and click on Continue. Step 4: Select the format as MAC OS Extended (Journaled) and click on Erase. Step 5: Wait till the MacBook is completely reset and then go back to the Disk Utility’s main window.

IMPORTANT:  Can you backup a hard drive to OneDrive?

What happens if you erase your Mac hard drive?

Erasing your Mac permanently deletes its files. If you want to restore your Mac to factory settings, such as to prepare it for a new owner, first learn what to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your Mac.

Can I wipe my hard drive without removing Windows?

Windows 8- choose “Settings” from the Charm Bar> Change PC Settings> General> choose the “Get Started” option under “Remove Everything and Reinstall Windows”> Next> select which drives you want to wipe> choose whether you want to remove your files or fully clean the drive> Reset.

Does formatting a drive wipe it?

Formatting a disk does not erase the data on the disk, only the address tables. … However a computer specialist would be able to recover most or all the data that was on the disk before the reformat.

Does resetting Mac delete everything?

Resetting a Mac to factory settings gets rid of all the data stored on that machine, so we recommend that you make a backup of the data first. This can be done very simply using Apple’s Time Machine software – here’s how to back up using Time Machine.

Does erasing Mac remove iCloud?

You can click Keep a Copy, because you’re erasing your Mac later. Your iCloud data remains in iCloud and on any other devices that are signed in to iCloud with your Apple ID.

What happens when you restore your Mac to factory settings?

You can restore your Mac to factory settings by erasing your Mac, then using macOS Recovery, the built-in recovery system on your Mac, to reinstall macOS. Important: Erasing the volume removes all the information from it. Before you start, back up your essential files and information to another storage device.

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: Does SSD increase WIFI speed?
Information storage methods