Question: How do I wipe my hard drive to factory settings?

How do you wipe a hard drive clean and start over?

Go to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery, and click Get Started under Reset this PC. You are then asked if you want to keep your files or delete everything. Select Remove Everything, click Next, then click Reset. Your PC goes through the reset process and reinstalls Windows.

How do I delete everything on my hard drive?

Select the Settings option. On the left side of the screen, select Remove everything and reinstall Windows. On the “Reset your PC” screen, click Next. On the “Do you want to fully clean your drive” screen, select Just remove my files to do a quick deletion or select Fully clean the drive to have all files erased.

Does a factory reset wipe all drives?

Mainly, this is because they do not delete everything you might want them to delete ( your data remains on the hard drive!) … This means that, through a factory reset, the only way to get rid of all of your old data is the continuous use of the device to replace it all with new data.

IMPORTANT:  Why are Mac hard drives so small?

Can I wipe my laptop and start over?

Navigate to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery. You should see a title that says “Reset this PC.” Click Get Started. You can either select Keep My Files or Remove Everything. The former resets your options to default and removes uninstalled apps, like browsers, but keeps your data intact.

What is the best program to wipe a hard drive?

5 Free Programs to Completely Wipe a Hard Drive

  • DBan (Darik’s Boot and Nuke)
  • KillDisk.
  • Disk Wipe.
  • Eraser.
  • HDD Low Level Format Tool.

How do I wipe my laptop before selling it?

Erasing everything

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Click on Update & Security.
  3. Click on Recovery.
  4. Under the Reset this PC section, click the Get started button.
  5. Click the Remove everything button.
  6. Click the Change settings option.
  7. Turn on the Data erasure toggle switch. …
  8. Click the Confirm button.

What are the disadvantages of factory reset?

But if we reset our device because we noticed that its snappiness has slowed down, the biggest drawback is the loss of data, so it is essential to backup all your data, contacts, photos, videos, files, music, before resetting.

Does a factory reset remove Google account?

Performing a Factory Reset will permanently delete all user data on the smartphone or tablet. Be sure to back up your data before performing a Factory Reset. Before performing a reset, if your device is operating on Android 5.0 (Lollipop) or higher, please remove your Google Account (Gmail) and your screen lock.

Does a factory reset remove viruses?

You will lose all your data. This means your photos, text messages, files and saved settings will all be removed and your device restored to the state it was in when it first left the factory. A factory reset is definitely a cool trick. It does remove viruses and malware, but not in 100% of cases.

IMPORTANT:  How do I save files to a DVD RW?
Information storage methods